Melbourne Midwinter Dinner - 20 June 2014

Thanks to all those who attended the Melbourne Midwinter Dinner and contributed to making this years event another great function. We had 109 attending with several reunion groups. Special thanks go to Jason Mundy who was the AAD guest speaker at his second Melbourne Midwinter dinner and provided us with an overview of the 2013-2014 activities. This included significant delays and voyage rescheduling due to heavy ice conditions in the approach to the stations, the combined nations Aurora Basin drilling program, a helicopter crash and the return of injured members and the retrieval of passengers from the beset Akademik Shokalskiy near Commonwealth Bay.

Bill Storer was the only representative from the Mawson 1954 group. The Mawson 1964 reunion saw Roger Francey, Rodger Williams, Don Seedsman Bill Budd and Frank Trajer attending. Brendan Godwin was very active in organising a Mawson 1974 reunion and managed to round up Dave McCormack, Peter Cameron, Graham Henstridge, Graham Hinch, Ted Giles, David Luders and Tony Ashford. Other reunion groups included Davis 2004, Mawson 2003, a group from the '1970's and a regular ACS group.

Thanks go to Ralph Fletcher for MC. Robin Regester toasted the "Men and Women of Anare" and John Gillies responded to the ANARE toast. The Rememberance to "Departed members" was carried out by Max Corry and those attending gave due respect.

David Parer introduced Neil Roberts who had made a carving of Phillip Law and this was presented to Jason Mundy - the AAD representative for display in the AAD library.

Ralph "Noddy" Fletcher also completed the Call of the Years and provided an outstanding rendition of "Anare Man" This received a standing ovation. This task had previously been completed by Rod Mackenzie for 30 years at Melbourne and Noddy had a high standard to maintain.

The first year without an expeditioner represented in the "Call of the Years" was 1957 and only 4 years of ANARE were not represented. Hilton Matthews 1947-48 Labuan was the earliest serving expeditioner attending, along with our usual regular of Norm Tame from 1948 Wyarp Earp. Hilton Matthews also took out the lucky ticket prize of an accommodation package donated by the Bayview Eden.

tThe Sales table was busy throughout the evening, staffed by Brian Harvey and Charmaine Alford. The attendees contributed around \$800 to the ANARE Club through their purchases, the remainder our webmaster's Antarctic book collection, which was generously donated to the ANARE Club by the Bruce family after Ian's sad passing earlier in 2013.

Congratulations to Mr Andrew Jackson who was selected as the recipient of the 2014 Phillip Law Medal for a lifetime of international policy work. This was presented to him at the Hobart Midwinter Dinner on Saturday 21 June 2014, by the National President Mr Joe Johnson.

The ANARE Club Annual General Meeting is on 18 August 2014 and the New Rules, in

accordance with Victorian legislation, now require 10% of members for voting. So please attend OR if unable to do so, submit a Proxy form to the President or Secretary. We also welcome members to nominate for the National Council positions.