ANARE Club Logo For Members of AUSTRALIAN Antarctic Programs, previously called Australian National Antarctic Research Expeditions (ANARE) ANARE Club Banner
Antarctic Division
State Branches & Regions
New South Wales
Sydney Midwinter 2006
Haberfield Rowing Club

Greg Mortimer speaking

Greg Mortimer - Guest Speaker  NSW MWD - 1st July 2006
Greg Mortimer is one of the world's foremost mountaineers: an eminent Antarctic mountaineer and adventurer and a pioneer in leading travel expeditions to the Antarctic. On October 3rd 1984 Greg Mortimer and team mate Tim Macartney-Snape became the first Australians to climb Everest (8850m, Nepal). They not only did this without bottled oxygen, but via a new route (North Face - Great Couloir). Greg's other climbing accomplishments include the first ever summit of Annapurna II (7937m, Nepal) via its South Face (1983), the first Australian summit of Antarctica's highest peak, Vinson Massif (4897m in 1988), and the first Australian ascent of K2, the second tallest mountain in the world (8611m, in 1990; North Ridge, Pakistan). To keep his hand in, he ascended Mt Manaslu (8156m), the eighth highest mountain in the world, just several weeks after Andrew Lock, the first Australian to summit, in 2002.

In 1988 Greg organised and led the Australian Bicentennial Antarctic Expedition. These journeys have been covered in two documentaries which have been distributed world-wide: "The Loneliest Mountain", by Film Australia and "Everest - The Australian Assault", by the Channel Nine television network.

In a listing of the first ascents of the fourteen 8000m peaks by Australians, interestingly the only ascents NOT via the accepted 'standard' routes were Greg and Tim's on Everest in 1984 and Greg Mortimer and Greg Child's on K2 in 1990 - ie the highest and the hardest! Both were achieved without supplementary oxygen. 

Greg originally trained as a geochemist. From 1979 to 1984 he worked as a geologist, a survival-training instructor, and a Scientific Affairs Adviser for the New Zealand Antarctic Division. Greg co-founded Aurora Expeditions with his partner Margaret Werner in 1992 and has been taking visitors to the world's polar regions ever since. Greg and Margaret are deeply committed to education and the preservation of the environment. They are veterans of almost three decades of Antarctic research, private Antarctic mountaineering expeditions and polar travel. Greg has personally led over 80 voyages and Antarctica is his abiding passion. Greg believes that people return as ambassadors to ensure the polar regions are looked after for the future. He is a very motivational speaker.

Greg Mortimer's remarkable accomplishments have been recognised by the Australian government with the Order of Australia Medal for mountaineering. He is also the recipient of three Australian Geographic Society medals.

Mawsons hut

Who was there

Greg Mortimer Guest speaker
Kit Scally M71 M91 Club rep voyage
Julie Finch-Scally Qantas
David Ellyard M66 reunion Club rep voyage
Sue Ellyard M66 reunion
George Cooke M66 reunion
Pauline  Cooke M66 reunion
Peter Cronly M66 reunion
Alan Duke M66 reunion
Wendy  Duke M66 reunion
Bill Edgar M66 reunion
Kevin Lewis M66 reunion
Max (Buck) Jones M66 reunion
Brian Kilfoyle M66 reunion
Barbara Kilfoyle M66 reunion
Ken Morrison M66 reunion
Edna  Morrison M66 reunion
Ron Murray M66 reunion
John Quinert M66 reunion
John Rankins M66 reunion
Glenda Grice M66 reunion
Alan Williams M66 reunion
Colin  Christiansen M71 72-74  RRS John Biscoe  C75 D77 84 AAD 85 HI summer, 02/03 V2, 94/95 Club rep voyage
Lucinda  Coates PCM91/92 Club rep voyage
Phil  Silvestro  C81/82 Club rep voyage
Donna Silvestro  
Hilton  Swan  MI95 etc
Owen  Holmwood C89 Club rep voyage
Anne-Marie McEwan  
Paddy Butterworth M87 91
Anne-Marie Butterworth  
Denise Allen M05 etc
Tom Arrowsmith C72
Chris Austin  
Peter  Barratt  
Geoff Beer C05/06 M02/03
Tara  Beer  
Quentin Blades C69
Yan Yang  
Bill  Breeze C76
Louise  Holliday D
Eleanor Breeze  
Bill  Burch W61
Robyn Burch  
Clarke Chris C04/05
Currie Graham M60 etc etc etc
Colin Friendship M71/72 etc
Rita Friendship  
Max  Clayton  
Lorna Clayton  
Bill Bye  
Carol Bye  
Ral Matthews  
Leigh Matthews  
John Gillies M67 C69 etc
Ian Kavanagh MI77 HO etc
Leila Kavanagh  
Syd Kirkby M56/57 M60/61 etc
Jude Lang  
John Lavatt LST 3501 HI 1947 etc
Pat Lavatt 1947 Foreign Affairs
Michael Dillon  
Gretchen Bechert  
Jennifer Lawson  
Paul  Lytwyn M85 M83/84
Dee Lytwyn  
Damien Macey  
Dale Main M04 etc
Kath McMahon C04/05
Neil McDonald M76
Rosalie McDonald  
Jock McGhee W67
Mike Morgan Enderby Land 74/75 75/76
Sam Naebkhil C04/05
Peter Nichols C99
Luke Nilan C04/05
Trevor Olrog MI65 W67
Lisa Roberts 02 V7
Ken Wilson MI95 MI97
Neville Smethurst W61
Maureen Smithurst  
Stephen Richard M76
Penny  Stephen  
Bill  Storer MI51 M54
Lindsay Stubbs M79
Bob Sutton MI65 M etc
Lawrie Turnbull M65
Gilbert Wallace  
Richard Warner MI94/95
Jessie Warner  
Ron  Webb MI72 etc
Marguerite Tierney  
Margaret Whitelaw  
Carlita Whittaker Commonwealth Bay 02
Terry Whittaker  
Phil Vardey D71
Ian Stone etc


Ken Barratt

Alastair Battye W62

Isobel Bennett MI

Ray Brookes D CB etc

John Bunt    etc

Rowan Butler M81/92 C83/4

Herb Dartnall

Mary Dorrity

Chris Gorman W62

Tom Harwood MI59 etc

Chris Hutchinson M69/70

Mark Maxwell D03

Ron Minogue

Jim Nilson C04/05

Geoff Payne

Mike Poulton M65

Janet Reynold

Richard Roy M92

Dick Thompson HQ

Ian Tod

Ray Torckler D59 W61

Peter Turner