ANARE Club Logo For Members of AUSTRALIAN Antarctic Programs, previously called Australian National Antarctic Research Expeditions (ANARE) ANARE Club Banner
Antarctic Division
State Branches & Regions
Phillip Law Medal - 2013 Recipient

 Recipient of the Phillip Law Medal
2013 - Dr Ian Allison

The 2013 Phillip Law Medal has been awarded to Dr Ian Allison for outstanding service to science.

Ian Allison has worked as a glaciologist for over 40 years with more than 30 years in scientific leadership positions.

He has participated in or led 25 expeditions to Antarctica. 

For more than a quarter of a century Professor Allison has played a lead role in international collaboration in glaciology and climate science through bodies such as the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research; the World Climate Research Programme and the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics. 

He was co-Chair of the Joint Committee for the International Polar Year 2007-2008, and a Lead Author on the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Fourth and Fifth Assessment Reports.

Ian's research covers a broad field including sea ice; ice shelf ocean interaction; mass budget of the Antarctic ice sheet; and Antarctic surface weather and climate.

The Phillip Law Medal is awarded to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to Antarctic Affairs and the Antarctic community.

From his wintering at Mawson in 1969 as a newly qualified physicist Ian's contribution to Antarctic science has grown to be enormous, but it is matched by his leadership in Antarctica, in Australia and in the global Antarctic community.

Contributions to the Antarctic Community

Among Ian's Antarctic legacy are:
·      Mawson winter (1969);

·      Seven extended deep-field operations (including the Southern Prince Charles Mountains, Enderby Land and Heard Island);

·      Numerous marine science voyages;

·      Twice field leader of deep-field operations; and

·      Seven time voyage leader of resupply and research voyages.

·      Prof  Allison was awarded the Australian Antarctic Medal in 1988;

·      The Scientific Committee for Antarctic Research, Medal for International Coordination in 2012;

·      A Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from University of Tasmania for outstanding contributions to international scientific collaboration in 2009;

·      A National Australia Day Achievement Medallion in 1999 for leadership during and following the engine room fire on RSV Aurora Australis in the Antarctic in July 1998;

·      An Australian Antarctic Service Medallion in 1969;

·      A Ministerial Achievement Award in 2006; and

·      The Future Justice Prize (shared with others) in communicating the latest advances in climate change science in 2010.

He is a worthy recipient of the 2013 Phillip Law medal.