ANARE Club Logo For Members of AUSTRALIAN Antarctic Programs, previously called Australian National Antarctic Research Expeditions (ANARE) ANARE Club Banner
Antarctic Division
State Branches & Regions
Antarctic Websites - Australian Sites
Australian Sites - Page 1
The links on this page point to official Australian organisations with an interest in Antarctica.  This includes: 
  • State Government Departments
  • Trade Networks 
  • Australian Antarctic Division (AAD)
  • Other Commonwealth Government Departments
  • Universities 
  • Museums and Libraries

Antarctic Tasmania

Antarctic Tasmania is responsible for enhancing Hobart's role in support of all countries activities in Antarctica and the Southern Ocean.

Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife

Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife are responsible for the management of Macquarie Island, a World Heritage area.

Tasmanian Polar Network

The Tasmanian Polar Network (TPN) is a group, based in Hobart, whose purpose is to further the involvement of Tasmanian businesses in support of all countries' Antarctic activities.
Antarctic Division Library
As might be expected, AAD maintains an extensive Antarctic library.  In addition to regular books, it has reports from the stations and an historic collection.

Australian Antarctic Division

The Australian Antarctic Division is responsible for conducting Australia's operations in the Antarctic and sub-Antarctic.

Bureau of Meteorology (BoM)

BoM maintains an Antarctic and Southern Ocean Section.

Ionospheric Prediction Service (IPS), previously a separate agency, is now also part of BoM and is responsible for monitoring space weather.  

Ionosondes are installed at all Australian ANARE stations.

University of Tasmania (UTAS)

With the emphasis placed on Hobart as a support city for Antarctica, it is natural that UTAS has a relatively large Antarctic-related component.

UTAS is also the Australian representative on the global consortium International Antarctic Institute (IAI)

Institute for Marine and
Antarctic Studies (IMAS)

Although an institute of UTAS, and hosted on their website, IMAS is a collaboration of multiple organisations.  For this reason it has been given its own section on this web page.

Mawson's Huts Foundation

From the Foundation's website:
The Mawson's Huts Foundation exists to conserve in perpetuity for the Australian people the unique historical buildings known as Mawson's Huts at Cape Denison on Commonwealth Bay, base for the Australasian Antarctic Expedition of 1911-14 led by Australia's greatest polar explorer Sir Douglas Mawson. 
Link to the Foundation.