ANARE Club Logo ANARE Club Banner
For Members of AUSTRALIAN Antarctic Programs, previously called Australian National Antarctic Research Expeditions (ANARE)
Antarctic Division
State Branches & Regions
Archives 2020

Important Announcements

If you hear of any news that you think should be included here, please contact the Webmaster.

What's New

19 Sep 2020 - Obituary notice for Tony Bulcock Macquarie Island 1976

14 Sep 2020 - Obituary notice for Bill Taylor Mawson 1963

14 Sep 2020 - Obituary notice for Ian McLeod Mawson 1958

7 Sep 2020 - Obituary notice for Hugh Oldham Macquarie Island 1951, Mawson 1955

7 Sep 2020 - Obituary notice for Richard George McNair Heard Island 1953, Mawson 1955, Macquarie Island 1962

19 Aug 2020 - Obituary notice for Lynn Saunders Casey 1969

15 Aug 2020 - A successful National Council meeting followed by the Club's AGM was held in Brisbane and Zoom.

With 10 members in attendance, 18 people on Zoom and over 60 Proxy forms the AGM was a success welcoming in the new Council.
Meet our 2020/21 Council

15 Aug 2020 - In recognition of his outstanding Contribution to Antarctic affairs and the Antarctic Community, Syd Kirkby was awarded the Phil Law Medal
Unfortunately due to COVID risks Syd was unable to attend the meeting to receive his award in person. at the AGM.

15 Jul 2020 - Obituary notice for John "Windy" Windolf Mawson 1971

9 Aug 2020 - Obituary notice for Doug Cameron Casey 1980, Davis 1987, Mawson 1989, Macquarie Island 1991

1 Aug 2020 - AGM Proxy forms and the agenda for the AGM is available on our website and members have been notified of the upcoming AGM on 15 August 2020 at One Fifty, 150 Racecourse Rd., Albion, Bris, Qld.

31 Jul 2020 - The AGM for this year will be held via Zoom Video Conferencing. A small event is intended to be held in Brisbane with a limited number of guests due to the COVID 19 restrictions

15 Jul 2020 - Obituary notice for Imants "Bert" Berzins Casey 1975, Mawson 1978

2 Jul 2020 - Nominations for positions on ANARE Club National Council closed on 1 July 2020.
As there was only one nomination for each office position (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) and only nine nominations for the positions of Ordinary Councillor, to which up to nine members may be elected, no ballot was required.

30 Jun 2020 - Obituary notice for Brian "Slim" Harley Casey 1983, Casey 1987

23 Jun 2020 - Obituary notice for Dr. John Annexstad Macquarie Is 1966/67

23 Jun 2020 - Obituary notice for James (Jim) Douglas Creed Macquarie Is 1958

21 Jun 2020 - The 2020 Phil Law Medal will be awarded to Sydney (Syd) Lorrimar Kirkby. In recognition of his outstanding Contribution to Antarctic affairs and the Antarctic Community, particularly for his Leadership and Achievement in the field of Exploration Surveying and Mapping of Australian Antarctic Territory.

To be presented at the AGM
Brisbane 15 August 2020

21 Jun 2020 - The ANARE Club celebrated MWD with a Zoom Video Hook-up to Casey and Davis Stations to share in their Mid Winter activities as no formal Australian MWDs occured due to COVID travel restrictions.

18 Jun 2020 - Celebrating John Russell 100th Birthday Macquarie Is 1949, Heard Is 1952, Mawson 1954

17 May 2020 - Obituary notice for n Duncan Alexander Brown, Macquarie Is 1956, Mawson 1958, Davis 1961

18 Apr 2020 - Obituary notice for RAAF Man John Seaton, Mawson 1956

31 Mar 2020 - From David Ellyard - Please be advised that the NSW Branch has decided to cancel the Sydney Midwinter Dinner for this year.

26 Mar 2020 - From Ron Hann - Please be advised that the SA Branch committee meeting last Friday 20 March 2020 made the inevitable decision to cancel our South Australian Midwinter Dinner.

25 Mar 2020 - The ANARE National Council held an Extraordinary Council meeting to discuss and vote on a mjaor upgrade to the National Website and security and operation of the Club's database. The motion was passed to proceed with the upgrade.

23 Mar 2020 - From Richard Unwin QLD President - Qld Council have made the decision that the QLD dinner will be cancelled.

25 Mar 2020 - From Jan Adolph - Due to the increasing restrictions on gatherings being imposed due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) the 2020 Tasmanian Mid Winter Dinner has been postponed until 19 June, 2021.

22 Mar 2020 - From Rob Nash - the Victorian Council has voted to cancel the 2020 Melbourne Midwinter due the Covid19 public health emergency..

2 Mar 2020 - From Ralph Fletcher - Today Ljubov, George's wife has telephoned me advising me that sadly George passed away on 3rd June 2019.

2 Mar 2020 - I would like to announce the passing of my father, Shane Phelps (5 June 55 - 19 January 20). Shane was based out of Casey station as the Plant Inspector in 92/94.

21 Feb 2020 - Gary Cooper, Cosmic Ray Physicist, Mawson 1969, died 21st February on his 78th birthday.

8 Feb 2020 - National Council General Meeting held at Bay View Eden

8 Feb 2020 - 30-trip veteran helicopter pilot Leigh Hornsby gave a talk to the club - attended by over 60 people at the Bay View Eden Motel after our National Council meeting

8 Feb 2020 - President Richard Unwin presenting an ANARE Club Honarary Membership to Alan Ryan, ex-ABC Video Editor who has a major contribution to the Club.

25 Jan 2020 - Former ANARE Club President, Dr Joe Johson OAM has been awarded the OAM in the Australia Day Awards.